DIY Corkboard Map

My sweet brother-in-law travels for work and mentioned that he would like to find a state map to track where he’s visited.

After seeing this from Design Sponge on Pinterest, I was inspired to try my hand at something similar.

SAMSUNG

You’ll need:

  • A corkboard whatever size you want. Mine was 29″ x 35″  from Hobby Lobby ($12.99) and I used a 40% weekly coupon.
  • Map printable. Mine was from http://www.mrprintables.com/printable-map-of-the-united-states.html. I blew it up at Kinkos and it cost under $10 if I remember correctly (this is why one shouldn’t wait 3 months to post about a project!)
  • Scissors
  • Pencil/Pen
  • Paint pen
  • Craft paint for water (if you so desire…)

Cut out the map.

Tack it to the corkboard and trace it with a pen or pencil. I used a pen because I’m just daring like that (and ahem… a ball point pen may roll easier across the cork than a pencil.)

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

Hawaii ended up being like interpretive art. Those islands are tricky! I went ahead and used the paint pen to trace the lines since I hadn’t gone to Kinkos yet.

Now this next part can probably be done several different ways, but this is what made the most sense to me.

SAMSUNG

I cut up the map, then tacked it back down on one side and traced up the line.

SAMSUNG

I cut out a state, traced the negative space around it and continued over the whole country. In this picture, I cut out Mississippi, traced it, then cut out Louisiana, then Florida and made my way north.

SAMSUNG

Yeah! All my states are there!

SAMSUNG

Trace the states with the paint pen.

SAMSUNG

I decided it needed a little something, so I used some watered-down acrylic craft paint to make a “wash.” It was very subtle and I liked it.

SAMSUNG

 I also wanted to add some sort of compass. I found one on Google images that I liked and just sorta free handed it with a ruler, a small lid and with pencil (this is where my bravery ends!) It’s not the best, but it totally worked for me!

SAMSUNG

The finished project! Happy Birthday Chas!

Leave a Reply

